How did Mughals leave India?

Mughal rule was reduced to only a small area around Delhi, which passed under Maratha (1785) and then British (1803) control. The last Mughal, Bahādur Shah II (reigned 1837–57), was exiled to Yangon, Myanmar (Rangoon, Burma), by the British after his involvement with the Indian Mutiny of 1857–58.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *