Cell Division

Cell Division

New cells are formed in organisms in order to grow, to replace old, dead and injured cells, and to form gametes required for reproduction.
The process by which new cells are made is called cell division.

There are two main types of cell division: mitosis and meiosis.

The process of cell division by which most of the cells divide for growth is called mitosis.
In this process, each cell called mother cell divides to form two identical daughter cells. The daughter cells have the same number of chromosomes as mother cell. It helps in growth and repair of tissues in organisms.

Specific cells of reproductive organs or tissues in animals and plants divide to form gametes, which after fertilisation give rise to offspring. They divide by a different process called meiosis which involves two consecutive divisions. When a cell divides by meiosis it produces four new cells instead of just two . The new cells only have half the number of chromosomes than that of the mother cells.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *